Upgrading SYNC to SYNC 3 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
2015 - Present Ford F150 General discussion on the latest generation Ford F150 truck.

Upgrading SYNC to SYNC 3

 
Old 11-01-2017, 01:27 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 73
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default Upgrading SYNC to SYNC 3

Hey all,

Hope this is the right forum for this question. I have a '15 F150. Im not sure what version of sync i have. I believe its just the sync with Ford MyTouch. anyway, what would be the least expensive way to upgrade to the SYNC3? can i just get the module and replace that, or do I need something else besides that? is there a place to get them cheap? everywhere i look, they are around 1.5K..

Thanks in advance.
bciarcia is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 02:28 PM
  #2  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Sent PM
TexasFording is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 02:36 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 101
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Interested as well.
skeelo is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 02:37 PM
  #4  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by skeelo View Post
Interested as well.
Sent YOU a PM

TexasFording is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 03:12 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 56
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I'm interested as well please. Ever since I upgraded to 3.10 my system is making high pitch noises and it fades to the passenger side speaker randomly. Ford wants $140 just to look at it.

Maybe I should see about upgrading to Sync3 and ditch the Microsoft Sync2.

I have a 2015 SCREW XLT 302a

Brian
Buck Snort 0710 is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 03:15 PM
  #6  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Buck Snort 0710 View Post
I'm interested as well please. Ever since I upgraded to 3.10 my system is making high pitch noises and it fades to the passenger side speaker randomly. Ford wants $140 just to look at it.

Maybe I should see about upgrading to Sync3 and ditch the Microsoft Sync2.

I have a 2015 SCREW XLT 302a

Brian
Brian,

do you have aftermarket audio? Even if its still a 2015 you should be under warranty in which case they should look at it and fix it for you. Unless you're over 36K miles of course.

Sent you a PM
TexasFording is offline  
Old 11-02-2017, 05:31 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm curious as well. I recently bought a 15 SCREW and has the 4 inch screen sync system. I'd love to see about upgrading to the sync 3 as well.
Shakabraddah is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 12:28 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello. I am also interested in this. I live in the Austin area.
I have a 2015 Ford Super CREW with My Ford Touch (Sync 2), and I would like to upgrade to Sync 3 for the Car Play function.
Thank you.
Mike D
mdevlin is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 12:30 AM
  #9  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Shakabraddah View Post
I'm curious as well. I recently bought a 15 SCREW and has the 4 inch screen sync system. I'd love to see about upgrading to the sync 3 as well.
In your case its a bit more involved, you'll need a custom harness to add pins you dont currently have, then the sync 3 kit. You'll also need a new (8") FCIM (dash bezel) as well as reprogramming of the FCIM and ACM.
TexasFording is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 12:33 AM
  #10  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mdevlin View Post
Hello. I am also interested in this. I live in the Austin area.
I have a 2015 Ford Super CREW with My Ford Touch (Sync 2), and I would like to upgrade to Sync 3 for the Car Play function.
Thank you.
Mike D
Are they done with the mopac construction?
TexasFording is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: