Upgrading SYNC to SYNC 3 - Page 2 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
2015 - Present Ford F150 General discussion on the latest generation Ford F150 truck.

Upgrading SYNC to SYNC 3

 
Old 04-15-2018, 01:11 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello, I have a 2015 xlt , 8" screen Sync . Would also like some pricing info . Thanks
FordxFord is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 01:24 AM
  #12  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Sent PMs to FordxFord and mdevlin
TexasFording is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 01:42 AM
  #13  
Gone Golfin
iTrader: (3)
 
idrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: St George Utah
Posts: 4,064
Thanked 1,176 Times in 807 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bciarcia View Post
Hey all,

Hope this is the right forum for this question. I have a '15 F150. Im not sure what version of sync i have. I believe its just the sync with Ford MyTouch. anyway, what would be the least expensive way to upgrade to the SYNC3? can i just get the module and replace that, or do I need something else besides that? is there a place to get them cheap? everywhere i look, they are around 1.5K..

Thanks in advance.
Originally Posted by TexasFording View Post
Sent PMs to FordxFord and mdevlin
Just thought I'd say that I upgraded my 2015 Sync (my touch/Sync2) with the purchase of the Sync3 unit and required accessories from TexasFording. Everything went and works perfectly. Could not have been easier and considerably less $ than the dealer or whatever way you're thinking of going. For you guys wondering, TexasFording is the Man.
idrive is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to idrive For This Useful Post:
TexasFording (04-15-2018)
Old 04-15-2018, 11:57 AM
  #14  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by idrive View Post
Just thought I'd say that I upgraded my 2015 Sync (my touch/Sync2) with the purchase of the Sync3 unit and required accessories from TexasFording. Everything went and works perfectly. Could not have been easier and considerably less $ than the dealer or whatever way you're thinking of going. For you guys wondering, TexasFording is the Man.
Thank you sir! Appreciate it.
TexasFording is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 12:29 PM
  #15  
Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by idrive View Post
Just thought I'd say that I upgraded my 2015 Sync (my touch/Sync2) with the purchase of the Sync3 unit and required accessories from TexasFording. Everything went and works perfectly. Could not have been easier and considerably less $ than the dealer or whatever way you're thinking of going. For you guys wondering, TexasFording is the Man.
Same here , everything went perfect and the system works great.
mx558 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to mx558 For This Useful Post:
TexasFording (04-15-2018)
Old 04-15-2018, 12:44 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 54
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Interested as well
dios is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 01:57 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have a 2015 Lariat with Nav. Im interested on the cost to upgrade, TexasFording.
tboo72 is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 01:59 PM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 49
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Since there is a thread open. My understanding is that 2016 comes with SYNC3, and all I need to do is upgrade it via software, and possibly the USB module for CarPlay. Do I understand correctly?
DrHorrible is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 03:44 PM
  #19  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mx558 View Post
Same here , everything went perfect and the system works great.
Replied to your PM, PM me your email again and I'll send it to you. And thanks for the post.

Last edited by TexasFording; 04-15-2018 at 03:47 PM.
TexasFording is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to TexasFording For This Useful Post:
son of bob (04-25-2018)
Old 04-15-2018, 03:46 PM
  #20  
"Is this thing on?"
iTrader: (14)
 
TexasFording's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 3,043
Thanked 528 Times in 399 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DrHorrible View Post
Since there is a thread open. My understanding is that 2016 comes with SYNC3, and all I need to do is upgrade it via software, and possibly the USB module for CarPlay. Do I understand correctly?
2016s already ship with sync 3, correct. Depending on the build date you may need the usb hub and also a software update to sync 3, currently sitting at 3.0 (which includes carplay/AA and some fixes)
TexasFording is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: