Topic Sponsor
2015 - Present Ford F150 General discussion on the latest generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dash Cam hardwire

 
Old 05-18-2018, 02:57 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Sven150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 293
Liked 64 Times in 50 Posts
Default

I ran my wire down the right side A pillar to the fuse panel in the passenger foot well. I then used an ATR Micro2 add-a-fuse in #36 which is switched with the ignition. To the right of the panel is a convenient stud & nut to use for ground.

Pictures & link to add a fuse & dual USB power supply....

https://www.f150forum.com/f118/power...9/#post5721279
Sven150 is offline  
The following 2 users liked this post by Sven150:
GRNENVY (05-18-2018), Wassup8687 (02-10-2019)
Old 05-18-2018, 03:32 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Richmond,Va
Posts: 901
Liked 117 Times in 93 Posts
Default

I installed the Blackvue DR750S-CH last weekend to my fuse box using add a circuit/ add a fuses. I used the thread below with help wiring. Love the clean look.

https://www.f150forum.com/f118/dashc...388013/index2/

https://www.f150forum.com/f118/speci...stions-327161/
StangMan04 is offline  
The following users liked this post: StangMan04
GRNENVY (05-18-2018)
Old 05-18-2018, 07:18 PM
  #13  
Member
Thread Starter
 
GRNENVY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 30
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Sven150 View Post
I ran my wire down the right side A pillar to the fuse panel in the passenger foot well. I then used an ATR Micro2 add-a-fuse in #36 which is switched with the ignition. To the right of the panel is a convenient stud & nut to use for ground.

Pictures & link to add a fuse & dual USB power supply....

https://www.f150forum.com/f118/power...9/#post5721279
Thats what I will do! Thank you!
GRNENVY is offline  
Old 05-18-2018, 08:20 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
DK15Lariat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 264
Liked 50 Times in 40 Posts
Default

That's a great way to do it as well, and smart really. I almost went that route, but wanted a short power cord and mostly didn't want to mess with the pillar and headliner. The window switch is fused as well, but certainly not a completely separate circuit like adding one in the fuse block is.

Anyway, here is where I tapped into the overhead console. There is a hot wire, and ground right there. I'm pretty certain the hot wire was the closest one to the windshield. A simple test light is all I needed. I soldered the connections without cutting, then used liquid wire shielding, then later on added the electrical tape which I didn't need to but just did. I hid all the extra wiring and USB port up under the console. All of which I can access through the sunglasses storage door if I want, without removing the console. Works great.

https://i.imgur.com/U1JsNzJ.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/vB4pSIY.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/OUCw6yh.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/ayuT6pg.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/tBAn3RE.jpg
DK15Lariat is offline  
Old 05-18-2018, 11:50 PM
  #15  
Hold my beer
 
jbone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 709
Liked 169 Times in 126 Posts
Default

I also hardwired my Viofo dash cam. I used this kit:
Amazon Amazon
, but I had to pick up a different add-a-fuse from O'Reilly. I ran it down my passenger A-pillar and tapped into the fuse box on the passenger side. No issues, blown fuses, etc. I originally had it wired into my usb port, but I got sick of seeing the wire and not being able to close the access door on my center console. No regrets.
jbone36 is offline  
Old 06-06-2018, 03:05 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 167
Liked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Default

I am about to hardwire my 2-channel BlackVue with PowerMagic module to 2017 Lariat so I am looking for the suitable fuses. I need two: one always-on and one that for the circuit that is powered with the ignition. In the cabin fuse box, of course. I see some previous posters mentioned #36. When I look at the description, it seems like it powers already quite a few important modules, although none of them is critical for driving. I would like, if possible, to find the ones that would not affect anything mission-critical I was thinking initially about #16 (tailgate release) as one of the candidates...

There seems to be a number of unused fuses, 5-9, 20, 28-30. I am going to check them all to see if any of them are, in fact, powered.

If anyone hardwired PowerMagic or a similar box to a recent F-150, could you please post the fuse numbers you used? Thanks!
ngrigoriev is offline  
Old 06-06-2018, 03:17 PM
  #17  
Army Dude
 
BlackBoost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 4,033
Liked 980 Times in 688 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ngrigoriev View Post
I am about to hardwire my 2-channel BlackVue with PowerMagic module to 2017 Lariat so I am looking for the suitable fuses. I need two: one always-on and one that for the circuit that is powered with the ignition. In the cabin fuse box, of course. I see some previous posters mentioned #36. When I look at the description, it seems like it powers already quite a few important modules, although none of them is critical for driving. I would like, if possible, to find the ones that would not affect anything mission-critical I was thinking initially about #16 (tailgate release) as one of the candidates...

There seems to be a number of unused fuses, 5-9, 20, 28-30. I am going to check them all to see if any of them are, in fact, powered.

If anyone hardwired PowerMagic or a similar box to a recent F-150, could you please post the fuse numbers you used? Thanks!
I did the same as a few mentioned and ran the wire across the headliner and down the pillar to the passenger fusebox in the footwell. I needed switched and constant +12v because I did install the PowerMagic Pro into the top of my glovebox so that it can still record when the truck is off and parked. I don't recall exactly which ones I tapped into and won't see my truck till tomorrow night, but it only took a couple minutes to check fuses with a multimeter to find them. # 36 does sound familiar...
BlackBoost is offline  
The following users liked this post: BlackBoost
GRNENVY (06-06-2018)
Old 06-06-2018, 03:27 PM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bandera, TX
Posts: 53
Liked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by StangMan04 View Post
I installed the Blackvue DR750S-CH last weekend to my fuse box using add a circuit/ add a fuses. I used the thread below with help wiring. Love the clean look.

https://www.f150forum.com/f118/dashc...388013/index2/

https://www.f150forum.com/f118/speci...stions-327161/
Installed the same cam the same way. A couple of months later truck threw a bunch of codes that I'm sure had to do with towing as I was hauling my Travel Trailer at the time. Took to dealer and was told it was because I had hardwired my dashcam just like the above. Clamed wiring anything into the fuse box will cause "communication" problems. Still think that was BS but did remove the add-a-circuit. Lucky cord was long enough to still be hidden all the way to 12v lighter plug, which I now use. Haven't had any more codes thrown but haven't towed again either. By the way, brought an Aukey cam for my wifes Mazda and like it much better than the Blackvue, but that's just me.
bstar1952 is offline  
Old 06-06-2018, 03:35 PM
  #19  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just added a Thinkware F800 Pro front and rear camera to my 2018 Platinum but cameras are run from a Cellink Battery NEO instead of direct. I hard wired it to the fuse panel in the passenger foot well with a add a fuse to # 37 which is a spare 20 amp.
lsweaver is offline  
Old 06-06-2018, 04:34 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 603
Liked 79 Times in 62 Posts
Default

For anyone who has run, or is considering running down the pillar, please be aware that there is an airbag in there. Though I am not sure it would be matter, I would think it would be best practice not to cross over the airbag.
Harry Franklin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Dash Cam hardwire


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: