Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

DIY Timing job.

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2017, 12:13 PM

Received 83 Likes on 69 Posts

Default DIY Timing job.

Can I do it? which is the question I have been asking myself along with looking at countless videos. I've never tackled one especially on this type of engine. I know I am physically capable of getting in there and it doesn't seem like you can really mess it up if you take your time and pay attention. is there anybody out there that went through the same thing? Part of me wants to do it to say that I did and to save money of course but the other part stares at all the stuff and goes "Oh my God". I'm not looking for a pep talk but someone that actually went for it with the same hesitation that I have and was successful and would recommend doing it. On the other hand since I'm no expert will I be able to recognize other issues such as bad lifters or rollers etc. I would be replacing the oil pump and know that I might have to pull the oil pan. Now, that being said. I do have a Ford Mech that works on the side that would do it for $1,000 labor if I buy all parts. He needs it on a fri and sat. So, all opinions welcome. Thanks
Old 06-18-2017, 12:24 PM

Received 119 Likes on 110 Posts

i am the simple kind of dyi mechanic. brakes/ plugs ect. but not into the timing ect. i had my 05 done when it blew the plug. about $3200 that included fixing all the plugs at the samm time and polishing the heads and cam. pretty much a rebuild on the topside. ran so good after it broke the toque converter within 2k miles. that was in the 250-255k mile range so i didn't mind getting a lil love put into the engine and a rebuild of the tranny.
Old 06-18-2017, 01:02 PM
LightningRod

Received 640 Likes on 513 Posts

Originally Posted by Tommy J
Can I do it?
Y E S, Y O U C A N.