General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

When to Use The M Gear?

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2016, 03:07 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default When to Use The M Gear?

ON the gearshift, I have tried the M position, and I just can't get a handle on when to use it. I know you can block certain gears, but I do not understand under what situations you would do this.

I have read the manual a couple of times, but I just can't grasp it. Sorry, I'm a rookie!
Old 08-30-2016, 04:20 PM
Official HTT Greeter

Received 328 Likes on 261 Posts

you can use the gear lock-out to keep the truck from losing momentum on hills. Especially useful while towing.

By downshifting manually before a hill, the truck doesn't lose as much as shifting half-way up the hill. Or hitting M to keep it in a higher gear to pull small rises (not steep enough to be a hill) sometimes the truck doesn't know you're at the top of a little hill and it'll downshift at the peak of an overpass or something. Then a second later shift back up as you're over the crest.

you can also use it for engine braking. by downshifting manually and letting off the gas, the engine will compression brake, slowing down the vehicle.

I rarely use the M mode. I use the gear lock-out occasionally, but "Sport" and "tow/haul" modes work quite well for me. Surprising with this being the first automatic trans vehicle I've owned.
Old 08-30-2016, 05:20 PM

Received 63 Likes on 51 Posts

played with my select shift a bit today for the first time. not a huge rpm difference between 6-5th. I can totally see myself running in 5th and 4th pulling a trailer. esp with the 5.0 which loves to rev. I believe it was just barely over 2K rpm in 5th at 70
Old 08-30-2016, 05:56 PM

Received 1,287 Likes on 903 Posts