Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

Fuel Issue

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2014, 03:07 PM
Renney

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Issue

Hello all, I have a 1985 ford 4x4 that I have not yet finished building but do drive it on weekends. Its a carbed eddy 600cfm on eddy intake 5.0 H.O engine.

Everything on my truck is hooked up on its own circuit with a toggle switch. I have been running an external fuel pump on it for a few years. I have had to replace it once, about a year and half ago. Here lately I lost fuel pressure.

I have a 8 guage ground wire welded to the frame, bolted to engine at the battery ground. Have a 10 guage ground wire bolted from the battery ground on engine bolted to body at the cab and bed. I checked electric hook ups first, and they were ok.

So I figured pump was bad. Pulled it off which is mounted to the frame 18" from rear tank about half way from top of tank. Pump has a filter before the pump. I changed the pump and filter both. Same thing, no pressure.

Pulled it off (MrGasket, cheap if you call $50 cheap). Went to a real auto supply and purchased a $100 pump. Hooked it up and everything worked fine. Drove it 3 or 4 miles and got gas. Sat for 2 days. Cranked it up and would not stay running.

Checked pressure at carb with guage and had "0". Pump was running and was correct volts and not getting hot. I installed a primer bulb behind clear filter at the carb. If I kept giving it a squeez every min or so engine would keep running. When I would stop helping it carb would run dry and engine would quit. Since then I have changed fuel pump agin, two filters and all fuel line from pump to carb.

When I unhook fuel line from tank to pump, fuel pours out. I pulled fuel to carb with primer bulb with pump running till hard and carb and filter is full. Same thing. Runs out of gas. No pressure.