Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

How-To: retrieve trouble codes- OBDI

 
Old 10-27-2008, 04:54 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Henderson, NV.
Posts: 4,658
Likes: 0
Liked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Certain things I remember about the hook up, I'm sure Sean will be along to help. You have to use an analogue voltmeter not a digital. Positive lead to batt pos. negative lead to the second from left with the four pin row at bottom. Jumper the little dangling connector to the top right pin. Turn key to on and count the needle sweeps just as Sean explained.

Last edited by Good old Bill; 10-27-2008 at 05:12 PM.
Good old Bill is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 06:57 PM
  #12  
Car Audio FANATIC
 
iRmARK88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: College Station
Posts: 477
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

roughly how long would it take a comp to "relearn" my driving style??
iRmARK88 is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 10:32 PM
  #13  
We'd do it
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 35,802
Liked 430 Times in 385 Posts
Default

If your truck has a check engine light then you don't need to hook up the voltmeter, you just count the flashes. If the bulb is burned out and you don't feel like changing it, then you can use the voltmeter to read the codes. Turn on the ignition key and make sure the check engine light comes on. If you're sure you have the hookups right and they are making good contact and the computer still won't go into diagnostic mode then that usually means the computer is fried.

My truck usually relearns my driving style after about 50 miles of driving.
Just call me Sean is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 06:05 AM
  #14  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a code reader for this truck that i can plug in as you shown. Can i just use it. This truck is a 1992.
BlondieGirl is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 02:53 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richland hills texas
Posts: 155
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default What if

My check engine light doesn't work

What else should I do?
Jamesb53191 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:36 PM
  #16  
We'd do it
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 35,802
Liked 430 Times in 385 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jamesb53191 View Post
My check engine light doesn't work

What else should I do?
If your check engine light doesn't work you can still get the codes by using a voltmeter as shown in the diagram. You should change the bulb so it does work. If you recently got this truck then I have seen people remove the bulb because the light was on.
Just call me Sean is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 05:45 PM
  #17  
Retired Aerospace
 
Kattumaram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edgewater, Florida
Posts: 1,324
Likes: 0
Liked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default Cheap and Effective:

I use an Actron CP-9015 (OBD-I) on my 94 Lincoln. The unit is cheap, about 30 bucks, and very comprehensive.....saved me a lot of grief and bucks.
Kattumaram is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 06:56 PM
  #18  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sean - I've got an '89 F-150, 4WD, straight 6, 300. The picture above is clear enough, and I found the STO and STI . . . but the port on the STO that you show jumping to the STI is like a dry well. Any reason why Ford would leave that port un-wired? Any work around possible?

Thanks -
cz
czw1 is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 07:38 PM
  #19  
We'd do it
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 35,802
Liked 430 Times in 385 Posts
Default

I've never seen one that didn't have the wire. Maybe it came out or broke off. Check the harness to see if there's a loose wire. Make sure you have the correct spot in the plug because some others aren't used.
Just call me Sean is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 01:07 AM
  #20  
Navy Seabee
 
proudfordowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

us guys with digital mileage can do this to scan for trouble codes as of a few other things...

http://http://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/ford/

The above site lists Ford trouble codes. You might find it useful if you use the following diagnostic trick:

With the key OFF, push (and hold down) the SELECT/RESET button on your odometer.

Start the vehicle while still holding the button. Continue to hold it down, until all of your gauges jump up to their maximum, and then return to normal.

When you see "bulb" in the digital odometer readout, let off the button. This is the gauge test mode.

Some of the things you can view on your odometer screen are:

Digital speedometer (mph)
Digital tachometer (RPM)
Digital speedometer (kph)
Battery Voltage
Engine Temperature
Plus, you can also view any TCs stored in the computer!
proudfordowner is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How-To: retrieve trouble codes- OBDI


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: