Topic Sponsor

Wiring Rookie

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2014, 01:20 PM
Formerly "the_breeze"

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

I'll be honest, I'm new to wiring things. I can rebuild a motor from top to bottom but I'm not even sure I can wire in a new head unit. Right now everything I have in my truck: CB, Flashlight mount/Charger, and under dash lights are all wired to plug in. That being said, I can only have one plugged in at a time, and I don't like the look of wires hanging everywhere.

If I were to wire everything to a switch panel:
1) where would be the best place to power it from? I don't like just splicing wires all over the place so would I be able to feed the whole panel from one splice?
And 2) Would this disconnect the power source when the vehicle is not running or on auxiliary? Anything that is plugged in gets power at all times, I don't want to have to throw the switch every time I shut the truck off if its something I use often. But if I'm not using it I don't want it to drain the battery.

Thanks in advance, and I apologize if they're stupid questions but like I said, I'm new to the wiring scene and I like to do things right.
Old 03-12-2014, 04:00 PM
We'd do it

Received 449 Likes on 402 Posts

You just need an accessory feed, so it shuts off with the key.
Old 03-12-2014, 04:10 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Safest way to wire this which I do to all my trucks is with relays.

You would have a main large gauge power wire from battery powering the relays. Also needs ground.

Then relays have a remote wire that turns them on.

Find the acc circuit that turns on with key - use that to power switches then switches power remote wire on relays. > (doing it this way puts almost zero load on acc wire and you can use that wire to power as many switches and relays as you want)

The relay then has a large gauge output wire that then connects to device be it radio, lights and so on.

You can google relay switch wiring to see easy to follow diagrams.