Topic Sponsor

Laundry List

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2014, 05:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Laundry List

I am just getting started on my truck project. I have a 92 F 150 with 240K. Transmission rebuild at 150k, shifts good but sluggish. Motor swap with a used van engine at 217k. (van engine with truck oil pan = NO DIPSTICK) Pretty bad pinion bearing whine in the rear end. and locked up A/C compressor. Needless to say I have a lot of work to do. My plans are to replace the engine, add shift kit and cooler to transmission, replace rear end bearings and replace A/C compressor. I have around $600 in it so I can put a couple Gs in it and have a pretty nice truck. Now to the questions. I want to use this truck as a weekend dirt, mulch, go to the lumberyard and landfill truck as well as occasionally pull my 2200 lb pop up camper to the mountains for the weekend. I am looking for torque, reliability, and reasonable gas mileage on pump gas. I will be building it myself so will I be happy to go back stock? Push the rebuild as far as I can with the speed density setup? or go nuts and do a mass air swap? There is a Ford graveyard about 2 hours away that has a 96 5.8 roller cam engine that runs but knocks and I can get the engine to rebuild, computer and wiring harness. Or I could just buy a crate motor. Or I work with a guy that has a 5.8 roller engine bottom end that still has the factory hone marks in the cylinder walls I could add some used GT heads to. All opinions welcome.

Laundry List-img_5868-b.jpg Sludgefest! another reason I am rebuilding.

Last edited by oakleysdad; 11-02-2014 at 07:49 PM.
Old 11-03-2014, 06:57 PM

Received 69 Likes on 64 Posts