Topic Sponsor

94 XLT brake system/bleeding process

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2018, 07:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 XLT brake system/bleeding process

Hello I have a brake system question for my 94 F150 XLT 2WD 5.0L. I’m not a mechanic but I’m fairly handy with some decent knowledge and tools and a reasonably fast learner so here you go.

I went to change my front brakes and my passenger side rotor was in pretty bad shape and the driver side wasn’t much better so I decided to replace both as well as the bearings and seal in each of them. Neither of the calipers would compress with a c clamp so I’ve replaced those also. I’ve never bled brakes before except for pushing the pedal when someone said to, but I know I have to and have studied up on it. I’m a one man band at the moment so I went and bought the pneumatic brake bleeding set at Harbor Freight.

And this is where I’d like your opinions as to where to move forward.

I had planned to go around the horn with the brake bleeding process but now I’m not sure if starting at the rear is required at this point. I understand some systems the front and rear are separate? Plus I’m not sure what I might find when I get to the rear and I’d like to tidy up everything I can from the front first if possible in case I have to retrace anything. So then should I start bleeding the front since that’s where all the changes have been done?

Also I have a little transfer pump and I was gonna remove most of the old brake fluid from the master cylinder reservoir before I started, but the float in the reservoir is preventing this and it is still nearly half full and I can’t see any other access. Is there an easy way to remove the float or should I just trust the bleeding process to remove the old fluid?

I bought a quart of DOT 3 brake fluid is this gonna be enough to do the whole bleeding process with the pneumatic setup?

Just so you know, the brake pedal has zero resistance at this point.