Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

trailer brake controller 2013 bad?

 
Old 03-07-2019, 03:52 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckeye Lake,OH
Posts: 117
Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default trailer brake controller 2013 bad?

My OEM from the factory brake controller will work when you squeeze the tabs by hearing the clicking at the RV wheels. However, when applying the foot brake no clicking and of course NO RV brakes. Display shows that I can increase/decrease the the numbers so that part works. What should I be looking at?
ccc150 is offline  
Old 03-07-2019, 06:01 PM
  #2  
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 22,965
Received 4,644 Likes on 3,627 Posts
Default

Try a system reset, disconnect the battery negative cable for no less than 15 mins. No it won't mess up your radio presets.
.
Rnlcomp is online now  
Old 03-07-2019, 07:48 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckeye Lake,OH
Posts: 117
Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I will try that on Saturday Rnlcomp, thanks
ccc150 is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 09:37 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckeye Lake,OH
Posts: 117
Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Disconnecting and connecting the battery took care of the trailer brake problem. Lesson learned. Thanks
ccc150 is offline  
Old 03-22-2019, 12:20 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckeye Lake,OH
Posts: 117
Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I thought the brake controller problem was solved. So I decided to adjust the brakes. After adjusting however when I spin any of the tires the foot brake will not stop the tire, only by squeezing the controller will the tire stop..I can't disconnect battery every time. Any ideas what I should look for??
ccc150 is offline  
Old 03-23-2019, 04:10 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Following

I have the same issue. Same truck. Iíve had another truck hooked up to my trailer and everything works.
I even checked fuse 37 on the passenger side it looks good.
Krippendroph is offline  
Old 03-23-2019, 04:39 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckeye Lake,OH
Posts: 117
Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Krippendroph View Post
I have the same issue. Same truck. Iíve had another truck hooked up to my trailer and everything works.
I even checked fuse 37 on the passenger side it looks good.
I did check that fuse 37 and it was OK. I believe the trailer wiring and brakes are fine as they work controller only all he time. Were you able to fix yours Krippendroph? I am thinking the controller itself could be malfunctioning..
ccc150 is offline  
Old 03-24-2019, 03:47 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
PerryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chico, Ca.
Posts: 3,641
Received 575 Likes on 471 Posts
Default

What is the brake output display showing? You should be getting a graphic display of current flow to the brakes on the info screen. If you're getting nothing via the brake pedal, but forced operation is working when squeezing the tabs, my first suspect would be the pressure transducer.
PerryB is offline  
Old 03-24-2019, 08:05 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by PerryB View Post
What is the brake output display showing? You should be getting a graphic display of current flow to the brakes on the info screen. If you're getting nothing via the brake pedal, but forced operation is working when squeezing the tabs, my first suspect would be the pressure transducer.
I get the display, according to the dash everything is working fine. Pressure transducer? No idea what or where that is. Google time!
Krippendroph is offline  
Old 03-24-2019, 08:16 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
PerryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chico, Ca.
Posts: 3,641
Received 575 Likes on 471 Posts
Default

It's the sensor that reads the brake line pressure. The controller uses that data, factored by the users output setting, to determine how much current to send out. If the controller isn't seeing a signal from the transducer, you'll get no braking and no indication on the display when applying the pedal, but the manual slide will work.

Last edited by PerryB; 03-24-2019 at 09:22 PM.
PerryB is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: trailer brake controller 2013 bad?


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: