Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing with regular cab

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2016, 04:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Towing with regular cab

Hi,

Newbie here with some questions about towing a travel trailer.

I recently bought a new travel trailer (23 ft, bumper to hitch 26 ft, dry weight 4600 lbs, when camping probably around 5600 lbs) and have a weight distribution hitch.

Now I am in the market for a tow vehicle and I really like the regular cab 2.7l ecoboost with trailer package. It looks as if the numbers are fine (payload of 1820 lbs should cover the hitch weight, two people and some stuff in the bed; trailer weight is well within limits).

Is it reasonable to tow a travel trailer with a regular cab 2.7l ecoboost?
If I need to get the super cab, will the extra two feet be a problem when backing into a tight camping spot?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 02-09-2016, 05:19 PM

Received 65 Likes on 38 Posts

I don't think having the extra length will make backing up much more difficult. having the longer wheelbase will help with stability while towing and also give you some extra in-cab storage space.
Old 02-09-2016, 05:25 PM
Official Bass Slapper

Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts

It looks like the RCSB (which I assume you're looking at because a sCab/short box is 22.6" longer) maxes out at 7600 at the low end with the 3.31 rear end and 4x2, 7700 for a 4x4 (no spec given for 4x2), and tops out at 8500 with the 3.73 rear end with 4x2 again.

The only thing I'd worry about with a 26' 6000# TT is it might throw you around with the wind due to your short wheelbase, and for your transmission's sake, make you it has an auxiliary trans cooler, not just plumbed into the rad, and watch your trans temperatures.
Old 02-10-2016, 08:17 AM

Received 204 Likes on 178 Posts

It's always a trade-off.