Help. Aftermarket amp install - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation Discuss modifications and enhancements to your Ford F150.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help. Aftermarket amp install

 
Old 02-03-2019, 10:06 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help. Aftermarket amp install 2015 King Ranch

I have a 2015 King Ranch with Sony system including Sony amp. I'm getting ready to install an aftermarket amp and sub with an OEM interface. Amp is JL Audio 5 channel 900 watt, sub is 13" JL Audio under rear seat mount and JL Audio Fix 86 DSP OEM integration. I will be removing the factory amp and mounting the new amp in the same spot. Is the an aftermarket plug made to directly hook up to the amp plugs so I don't have to cut the wires in the dash. I am assuming that the amp would have speaker input wires for all the speakers since the factory amp runs the whole system. Therefore I am hoping there is a plug out there where I can plug the input wires to a harness to directly wire to the DSP and a plug for the output wires to a harness and directly wire to the amp. Does this exist? Thanks

Last edited by Mikeyp69; 02-03-2019 at 10:21 AM.
Mikeyp69 is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:04 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,322
Thanked 462 Times in 381 Posts
Default

You don't want the fix 86 for the Sony system. You want the Rockford DSR1. The Dsr1 is an oem replacement module that is 100% plug in play on both the input and output side. It does not require the disassembly of the dash. It provides a complextly flat output to your amps. Has a built in 31 band parametric eq, time alignment, individual channel gain, etc. It also does a lot more as far as processing goes compared to the fix86. You simply remove the Sony amp and plug the dsr1 right in its place. It will handle and maintain all oem chime routing, warning alerts, reverse alerts through rear speakers, etc. For the Sony system, it is the only way to go in my opinion.

Here's a pic of my previous truck with Sony and where I mounted the Dsr1.


Lastly, there is a dedicated audio sub forum. Come join us!
dhmcfadin is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:37 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default



Im not quite seeing how these plug directly in from my Ford plugs. All im seeing is RCA in and RCA out
Mikeyp69 is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:53 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,322
Thanked 462 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mikeyp69


Im not quite seeing how these plug directly in from my Ford plugs. All im seeing is RCA in and RCA out
Yup that's it. But I would strongly recommend you reach out to HushCarAudio on this forum and get a price from him. His name is Bruce. I buy all my equipment through him as do a lot of audio guys on the forum do. Excellent customer service and the best prices I can find.
dhmcfadin is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 01:12 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But I don't see how this plugs in from my Ford plugs. All I see is RCA in and RCA out
Mikeyp69 is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 01:23 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,322
Thanked 462 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mikeyp69
But I don't see how this plugs in from my Ford plugs. All I see is RCA in and RCA out
The unit works for multiple ford vehicles so you buy the harness for your truck. In the case of your f150, you want the F02 harness.

https://www.crutchfield.com/p_794HAR...RoCX9gQAvD_BwE
dhmcfadin is offline  
Old 02-03-2019, 01:24 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,322
Thanked 462 Times in 381 Posts
Default

The reason you see those rcas is because the Dsr1 can also be used as a stand alone dsp. But in your case, it's being used for oem integration so you need oem integration harness.
dhmcfadin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Help. Aftermarket amp install


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: