Topic Sponsor
Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation Discuss modifications and enhancements to your Ford F150.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

back-up camera

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2010, 12:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default back-up camera

i am picking up my 05 lariat tomorrow and i am new to trucks so needless to say I am looking into rear view cameras.

in particular I am looking at ones that attach to the license plate bracket and have a yellow RCA cable that runs to the front.

I have a 7" Pioneer AVIC-03 headunit and I am wondering if when I put the car into reverse if the back up camera will appear on the unit. I have never seen this unit so I do not know how the cameras appear when you place it in reverse.

Let me know if you have one and what brand it is...ones I was looking at on ebay were 65-85$$.
Old 11-14-2011, 12:29 PM
Quiet_Dave

Default Nav R3 flush mounted backup camera

I recently added this Nav R3 backup camera to my '03 Lariat (it is the black spot, lower center of the tailgate) and had it wired into my Pioneer 3300BT multimedia center. I love it. In daylight it provides great imagery quite a ways back, and at night the IR lights provide clear imagery back about 12-15 feet and to a much lesser degree twice that distance. My only problem has been at twilight or in deep shadow, when it is too bright for the IRs and not light enough for the regular camera.

Last edited by Quiet_Dave; 11-16-2011 at 07:38 AM.
Old 11-15-2011, 10:56 AM

Originally Posted by Quiet_Dave