Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

PCV Valve Hose Replacement Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2018, 08:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PCV Valve Hose Replacement Help

Hey all,
Noob here again. I cracked my PCV hose when I was fighting with re-threading spark plug. I have the part coming soon, but it's not clear to me how to remove the existing hose in particular in the blue circled area in the following picture. Do I need to get the throttle body off to get at this or is there some trick to getting this off? I can feel it with my hand I just don't know the trick to getting it out. I assume install is as easy as popping it back in? Thanks in advance.

Old 09-25-2018, 12:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just to close on this I ended up taking the throttle body off and changing the gasket while I was in there. I could not for the life of me get that off without taking the throttle body off, what a pain.

As an aside, not afraid to embarrass myself I also dropped an extension and socket when I was attempting to loosen the back right bolt on the TB. It's gone, I think it's under the intake manifold or something because I never heard it hit the ground. No idea if it's ok to drive with it in there but if I have to go and find it looks like I'll have to go back in there and take the intake manifold off. I'll replace those gaskets while I'm in there as well.

Don't think I'm cut out for wrenching clearly
Old 09-25-2018, 10:22 PM
Now an XLT in Colorado

Received 2,311 Likes on 1,502 Posts

Hey, you're making the attempts, and learning as you go. That's how a lot of us have reached the level of expert... uh... skill.... umm ability we have.
If the extension fell down into the valley under the intake, it can live there without any detrimental effects, but maybe you could fish it out with a magnetic wand? (I sure wouldn't pull the intake just to get it out.)
Old 09-26-2018, 06:58 AM