Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

dying at 35 mph HELP

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2012, 10:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dying at 35 mph HELP

Hello everyone, I am a new member here. Ive been looking for an extended cab full size 4x4 truck for a while now. After much contemplating I have decided on a late 90's f150. Luckily there are a few for sale, I'm just trying to find the right one for the right price. there is one in particular that seems to be a great deal. The only issue i have with it is that the previous owner "rebuilt" the top end and did not put the exhaust back on, he apparently lost the piece going from the headers to the y pipe. And now the truck will run great (very very loud obviously) but it begins to loose power at about 35 mph. And continues to be down on power at higher speeds. Now, I have been working on cars for a good 5 years or so now, just as a hobby. Mostly fixing 90's volvos and vw's and such. Done a few LR's but this is an issue I have not come accross. My worry is that I will buy the truck and get some dual pipes welded on and then it'll still die at 35 mph due to some weird electrical issue or something else that'll take me months to diagnose and repair. And Id rather not do that. So if you all have any ideas that'd be very much appreciated. Thanks gentlemen (and ladies I'm sure)
Old 06-18-2012, 11:12 PM
RDNK150

Received 66 Likes on 65 Posts

I'd say with the lack there of any kind of back pressure it's not able to keep a strong idle maybe surging while running if say for the right price buy it what's the specs? Miles year motor gimme the goods brother
Old 06-19-2012, 07:37 AM

Originally Posted by tugs90
I'd say with the lack there of any kind of back pressure it's not able to keep a strong idle maybe surging while running if say for the right price buy it what's the specs? Miles year motor gimme the goods brother