Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

would it hurt?

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2013, 08:21 AM

Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts

Default would it hurt?

Just curious if I put a k&n air filter, programmer, and a muffler or full system... Would it hurt my engine? I have a 04 F150 lariat 4x4 with 168,xxx
Old 06-17-2013, 09:25 AM

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

if its a drop in filter you should be ok, if it is a full cai you might run lean and thats not good, the 04-05 models had a lean issue. if you get a cai make sure it doesn't relocate the maf or it will read incorrectly. and a custom tune will would be best. i am still running canned tunes but might go custom soon to max out my upgrades

some others might chime in on the lean issue as i am no expert ...its just what i have read
Old 06-17-2013, 12:58 PM

Originally Posted by TYM1
if its a drop in filter you should be ok, if it is a full cai you might run lean and thats not good, the 04-05 models had a lean issue. if you get a cai make sure it doesn't relocate the maf or it will read incorrectly. and a custom tune will would be best. i am still running canned tunes but might go custom soon to max out my upgrades

some others might chime in on the lean issue as i am no expert ...its just what i have read
Yea I've heard about the lean issue. What about the muffler would it hurt it?
Old 06-17-2013, 04:07 PM

Muffler or a full system won't hurt as long as the cats are on it ( go high flow if you change them) and the o2 sensors are still reading right. If you delete all your cats you might run into problems thats why most just put on the high flows. For your truck, you would have to do some research but it might have 4 cats and i think you can delete the back 2 but look into for yourself in case i am mistaken
Old 06-17-2013, 10:05 PM