Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Slow, Sluggish throttle/Throttle Lag

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 03:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question Slow, Sluggish throttle/Throttle Lag

I have a 2004 F-150 FX4 with a 3V 5.4L. I have seen some stuff on here about slow throttle and throttle lag but not really what I am looking for. I am a sales manager at a Ford dealer and I have driven ALOT of 3V 5.4L F-150's. Mine seems worse. It has 173,000 miles and runs REALLY GOOD, but the response on the throttle is horrible. I can literaly stab the gas and let off really quickly and it won't move! It has a 3" body lift...could that have something to do with it? No programmer, just pipe from the cat back, and stock intake. I know this is all drive by wire stuff and I was just wondering if there was anything I could do. I have tried the gas pedal reset with the ignition and it didn't help. Is there a throttle position sensor? Is it something in the throttle body or the throttle body itself? Any input on this would be helpful. Thanks guys!
Old 01-12-2012, 03:41 PM
Seņor Member

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts

Seems member jvbest33 discovered a fix.

https://www.f150forum.com/f4/04-f150...-10957/index3/

You'd have to read throught the thread. Since you got an inside connection to the service department at your dealership. Maybe you can have one of the service guys try the same thing?

Here's his quote from the thread:
Originally Posted by jvbest33
I got mine to 108%. Wide open throttle started being displayed at around 89% and I still had throttle left. On the floor, the pid reads 108%.