Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Intermittent sound issues.

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2018, 02:10 PM

Received 82 Likes on 50 Posts
Default Intermittent sound issues.

I'm having some speaker/sound issues that I've been trying to self diagnose without too much luck. The symptoms are intermittent sound quality issues and my driver door speaker is not working. I'm no expert in sound systems so my best description of the poor sound quality is the speakers making very short "poof" noises, something similar to what you might hear if the radio is turned up too loud, but the volume is at a normal level. I've adjusted the balance and fade to isolate the driver front speaker and found it to not be working with the radio on.

What I've tried doing to diagnose:
1. Originally thought that adjusting the balance and fade to isolate the front driver speaker, and having it not work, was conclusive that it was blown. I then bought some inexpensive speakers to replace the OEM ones and the problem persisted.
2. I did a audio control unit diagnostic by holding the 3 and 6 preset buttons. This does a system check on each speaker and to my surprise, each speaker (including the passenger front) was working during this diagnostic test.
3. Removed "peripheral" audio accessory unit and associated harness. No accessory items are hooked up the radio currently.

It should be stated that I have an automotive media adaptor plugged into the back of my radio for AUX in capabilities. It is the Peripheral PXAMG as pictured below. Nothing is hard wired, it is attached to the radio through a harness. I have similar issues when I listed to music through the Aux In feature (Ipod).

I'm not sure what to check next. My thought was that it could be the Audio Control Unit but after doing the diagnostic test it seemed to check out. Anyone have any insight? It is a 2005 FX4.

Last edited by Kyle G.; 03-15-2018 at 02:19 PM.
Old 03-15-2018, 02:18 PM