Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Another 2005 F-150 5.4 LTR Rough Idle/Stalling/Dying problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2019, 04:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another 2005 F-150 5.4 LTR Rough Idle/Stalling/Dying problem

Hello everyone, i am new to joining the forum, but have been reading the many threads with my particular problem and im still not at a solution. First of all, i am no mechanic, i can do basic maintenence and fixes that dont include tearing into the engine. So to get started, i bought this truck brand new in 2005 and it had 125 miles on it which was the delivery milage from another dealer to my local dealer for purchase. I have maintained the vehicle mechanically for the entire time i have owned it...ie.... Motorcraft 5w-20 with Motocraft 820S filter oil changes every 5000 miles as i live in the city and rarely am i in dusty conditions. Fuel filter changed with motocraft filter. Air cleaner i have used fram but i change it when it gets dirty. Only item replaced under original 3yr/36,000 mile warranty was the drivers side window switch ( which i still have intermittent problems with. The brakes were replaced at 78,000 miles. Only other thing i have had to replace was the battery, i have gotten 6 years out of each Motocraft BXT 65 battery (original and 2 others puchased) So, i currenty am sitting at 104,691 miles. My problem started last October coming home from Kansas City Chiefs Game and it had rained almost entire day. I was 7 miles from home and pulled up to a stop sign and it started running rough and a check engine light came on. I forget what the code was, but it was a misfire on Cyl 3&4 if i remember correctly. So i have a friend that recommended a shop near my town and so i called them up and the shop picked it up from my work. I told him the symptoms and also stated i had not had the spark plugs changed yet and to go ahead and do that while diagnosing and fixing my p