Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tailgate Straps: Either one is too long or one is too short

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2011, 05:16 PM
jackbjr75

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Tailgate Straps: Either one is too long or one is too short

I took my truck into the shop for several issue and one of my complaints was that the tailgate straps had uneven lengths. Ive owned several pick up and Broncos over the years and none of the tailgate check straps were ever uneven lengths. According to the Service manager who spoke with the Ford Tech Hotline this is how the 2011's are supposed to be. This is to correct several issue with the tailgate straps breaking according to Ford. Well I'm not an Engineer yet but it would seem to me if you place all the load on one strap instead of both straps it would cause the one strap taking the brunt of the load to snap first then the other to snap instead of evenly distributing the load across both tailgate straps to allow for a higher load rating. The other issue I have with this is the tail gate could possibly twist or slightly bend if heavily loaded and the one side of the tail gate is taking the brunt of the load instead of being supported on both sides. Call me crazy but just doesnt seem right.
Old 10-02-2011, 06:02 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Please search the forums before posting a thread and before taking it into a dealership (wasting yours and their time). This is a known topic and yes, it is supposed to be that way. Has been this way since at least 2009, possibly even before then (I did not own a f150 before 2009 so I'm not sure on that). I'm not an engineer either, but I'm sure they have designed it this way for one beneficial way or another.
Old 10-02-2011, 06:16 PM

Received 156 Likes on 113 Posts

Originally Posted by SportTractoF150