Need electrical help - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need electrical help

Reply

 
 
 
Old 02-26-2008, 10:52 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
supertruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need electrical help

hey guys, i am getting some amber warning lights for my truck and i was wondering if i can put 4 lights on cigarette plug adapters? if not what else could i do besides run wiring from my battery
supertruck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 11:41 PM
  #2  
Ty
Senior Member
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minocqua Wi
Posts: 6,988
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Where are you mounting the lights?

I have my cb and my relay for my light bar pluged into the cig lighter, but it is only tempory untill if get everythign wired up. Its ugly IMO, when you could just tap into any 12v source and ground it.
Ty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:18 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
supertruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im not really sure how to do all the wiring
supertruck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 10:17 AM
  #4  
J_Jones FX4
 
ukjonese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You probably have just two wires. One of which is a power wire and the other is a ground. One will plug up to the battery or a powered source like the cig lighter and the other to a metal-to-metal connection.

Meaning:: Splice into a power wire by using a wire spilce clamp (see below)



Place both wires in a the clamp and press down.

For the ground just find a metal screw tighened
into the frame or somewhere metal and put the
wire in between the metal surface and the screw
and tighten down.

Hope this helps! Good luck

Last edited by ukjonese; 03-04-2008 at 10:20 AM.
ukjonese is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 11:31 PM
  #5  
Paint it black
 
blackbetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: washington dc
Posts: 2,667
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

also you could add a add a fuse from the fuse box in the cab and you toss in a fuse, its sold at autozone and is great for adding accessories under 15 amps
blackbetty is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Need electrical help


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: