Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

16 Screw System build

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2019, 07:02 PM

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Default 16 Screw System build

Good afternoon ladies and gentlemen. I'm new to the f150 forums and to F150s and I'm in search of some direction when it comes to building a full system upgrade.
I currently have a 16 Screw with Sync 3 and the basic stereo. I had a full custom JL system on my previous truck and the F150 needs an upgrade ASAP.

Looking for suggestions as I would like to keep the factory usability and interface with upgraded amp, components front & rear, and subwoffer. I'm not sure what components will fit and what I will need to maintain the factory usability?

I will be dynamiting (or soundproofing if anyone has suggestions as to where to get the material that would be helpful too) the doors and possibly the back of the cab and floor. I am handy with wiring so I will install the system myself.

What do I need? What would you guys suggest I use? Where should I buy it from?
Old 06-04-2019, 07:49 PM

Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts

As for where to get stuff, most everyone on here will tell you to contact Bruce (HushCarAudio) on this site. He's known to be friendly, honest, very informed and best prices around. He carries or can order a good majority of the popular brands.

Some guys here run rear fill in the back, but the top dogs all recommend ditching the rear speakers and putting in a dsp to tune it all.

I went with Focal for my components but have a while till install. Many here love Audio Frog, Morel, Focal, JL or Hertz. All good stuff.

Skip dynamat brand and do a little searching on this site for other brands and the testing that has been done on all of it. Tons of good info on this site and always good tips/hints from guys here. There's extensive testing over on diyma on sound treatment.