16 F150 - 4" display to 8-12" what are my options? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

16 F150 - 4" display to 8-12" what are my options?

Old 07-29-2018, 08:01 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default 16 F150 - 4" display to 8-12" what are my options?

I'm very mechanically savvy, but don't know squat about what audio options are available for a 16 f150.
Here is my must list:
- bigger than my current 4" display
- must retain all sync and factory functions including back up camera and zoom functions.
- Android auto
- All connections to the phone will be via Bluetooth only. NO CORDS!
My want list:
- 8-12" display, but if I go 8", I'm not spending over $1k. I'd consider the 12" Linkswell if it retained all the factory functions. Walt claimed they would release one by now, but I haven't seen it.
I could care less about most other bells and whistles.

What do the guru's suggest?

Thanks

Last edited by White Elephant; 07-29-2018 at 08:05 PM.
White Elephant is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 01:55 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,668
Thanked 341 Times in 317 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by White Elephant View Post
I'm very mechanically savvy, but don't know squat about what audio options are available for a 16 f150.
Here is my must list:
- bigger than my current 4" display
- must retain all sync and factory functions including back up camera and zoom functions.
- Android auto
- All connections to the phone will be via Bluetooth only. NO CORDS!
My want list:
- 8-12" display, but if I go 8", I'm not spending over $1k. I'd consider the 12" Linkswell if it retained all the factory functions. Walt claimed they would release one by now, but I haven't seen it.
I could care less about most other bells and whistles.

What do the guru's suggest?

Thanks
Not many options if you want an 8" + display. Do you have a factory Sony HU?
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 02:20 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Uh, no. 4" display currently.
White Elephant is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 02:32 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,668
Thanked 341 Times in 317 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by White Elephant View Post
Uh, no. 4" display currently.
Then you have an Alpine or something like the Linkswell
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 05:08 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,354
Thanked 227 Times in 186 Posts
Default

If you aren't willing to spend over 1000, you really don't have any options. Best solution would be to just upgrade to the factory 8" radio but it's out of your budget. The factory 8" meets all of your requirements.
dhmcfadin is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 05:13 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 30
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I don't think you'll get wireless android auto with the factory sync 3. I don't think very many aftermarket HU's can even do that yet.
GateCityRadio is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 05:19 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,354
Thanked 227 Times in 186 Posts
Default

Yeah, he won't get that but he will get andrioid auto while plugged in. I always have my phone charging in the car so it's always plugged in anyways.
dhmcfadin is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 05:41 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 144
Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Why not upgrade to the Factory Sync 3 or Sync 2. I just swapped out my Sync 2 for Sync 3. Both achieved everything you're looking for.
Boosted2015 is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 09:46 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Boosted2015 View Post
Why not upgrade to the Factory Sync 3 or Sync 2. I just swapped out my Sync 2 for Sync 3. Both achieved everything you're looking for.
Why, because I don't want to spend $2k for a turnkey oem solution and don't have the time or desire to piece the same together for less $.
White Elephant is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 09:53 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Look behind you!
Posts: 225
Thanked 47 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Check out maestro kits for the truck. It retains all factory function, but don’t know if it will do wireless android.
Dunatic619 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 16 F150 - 4" display to 8-12" what are my options?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: