Topic Sponsor
Introductions New to the site? Introduce yourself!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Converted Chevy in Texas

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2018, 09:21 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Converted Chevy in Texas

Howdy, Y'all!

I'm a geologist in Texas, and I currently drive a Chevy Silverado... I know what you're thinking, "why would anyone willingly do that to themselves?" I agree. I've gotten 200k miles out of it, but it's time to come back to Ford. I haven't pulled the trigger on anything yet, but I am looking all over Texas for the right truck. After playing with build configurations on Ford.com I figured that an XLT the way I want it would be about $10k outside my price range, so I started looking for used. I found quite a few Lariats with the features I wanted within in my price range and with low-ish miles. After talking with a dealer about one, he mentioned that with Truck Month going on, I could probably get into a new XLT, with most of the options that I want, for about the same price as the Lariats that I was looking at.

Now the conundrum. Do I purchase new, take the initial depreciation hit, but get a full 3/36k warranty, and miss out on a couple of features that I didn't even know existed on a truck until a couple of weeks ago, or do I get a little more luxury, for a little bit less, but also get less warranty. I work on the other side of the state from where I live, and sometimes, I go out of state for work. So creature comforts play a big role in my decision making. I'd love to hear y'all's opinions on the matter. Used Lariat over New XLT, or New XLT over Used Lariat, and your reasoning behind why you would go that way. I'm trying to find something before the sale ends, otherwise, it's all academic. Please share your thoughts on the matter, I appreciate any feedback y'all can give!

AstroCat
Old 03-20-2018, 09:31 PM

Received 1,317 Likes on 1,232 Posts

Welcome to the forum, good luck on your search for a truck.