Topic Sponsor
Detailing & Cleaning Keep your Ford F150 Truck looking top notch! Discuss your cleaning and detailing tips here!

Dual action buffer

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2016, 01:17 AM

Received 109 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Dual action buffer

I'm fairly new to the waxing and making my truck pretty thing, I've found a sealant I really like and get good result with.

My truck is a 2014 with white paint, so pretty forgiving on the swirl mark side of things but I still have a few. I clay bar, then seal, then put on a coat of spay detailer atleast twice a year. I'm starting to get the bug tho, will I get much better results with a da setup?

I've seen alot of people reccomend the harbor freight, but griots garage is in my town and they have either a 3" orbital or the new 5.5" boss setup. I don't know which would be more forgiving for a beginner, yet I normally like to buy good stuff right off the bat, but $400 is a decent little chunk and I don't have a garage to detail in.

With that being said, should I just stick to hand applying or step up?
Old 02-13-2016, 10:58 AM

Received 171 Likes on 129 Posts

The DA will get better results quicker and with less effort. It's real benefit is polishing to get rid of swirl marks and minor scratches. It's quicker to apply and remove a sealant but I rarely do so because in my opinion it's more effort to clean the pads. I clay, polish with the D/A, then apply sealant. Some people prefer a warmer glow than the sealant gives so they put carnauba wax on top of it.

I've been using a Porter-Cable D/A polisher for 3 years now and it's never missed a beat. Then again, I'm only using it 2-3 times per year. Probably get one around $100-$130 bucks. You can get cheaper polishers and more expensive - it's up to you to decide if a cheaper one dies it was worth it or did you overspend for how much you actually use it.
Old 02-13-2016, 11:18 AM

Received 334 Likes on 227 Posts

Originally Posted by chickenwire