General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Whining from start up in 5speed manual

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2016, 09:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Whining from start up in 5speed manual

I did try looking guys, but mine seems different from the other posted "transmission whine" symptoms.
It's there from start up & does go up with engine revs, but not keeping up with the revs, just lagging slightly behind.
If I push in the clutch pedal it changes from loud to not so loud.
It even went away at the beginning of making that noise after it warmed up.

Please don't tell me it's an expensive job, because the truck only cost me $950 5yrs ago

PS, it has 230k mls on what I think is the original gearbox.
PPS, it's a '95 F150 2WD with a 5 speed manual box.

Thanks in advance....
Old 10-10-2016, 10:15 AM

Received 44 Likes on 39 Posts

I think that you got your monies worth out of that truck.

I am no mechanic but I have fiddled around a bit and if the trans is working fine but only whines than the only thing that you really can do is change the fluid and pray. The oil should be Mercon for aluminum housing and gear oil for cast iron housing. Some people say use Mercon in both. You should check you dealer for oil type but a high grade oil or even a synthetic would do a better job than the cheap stuff. With the fluid change you can also use an aftermarket trans fluid additive. I did this once and it worked like a miracle on a hot running transfer case. You can get good oil and additives at almost any automotive parts store.
Old 10-10-2016, 12:02 PM

Received 6,200 Likes on 4,672 Posts

Sounds to me like the throw out bearing, time for a new clutch since you have to pull the trans out anyway.
Old 10-10-2016, 07:09 PM

Originally Posted by Rnlcomp
Sounds to me like the throw out bearing, time for a new clutch since you have to pull the trans out anyway.