General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is a tuner for me?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2018, 04:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question Is a tuner for me?

I want to increase the fuel economy on a daily basis, but have the option to as well get the most power when playing on the weekends. I am new to tuners and just looking into it and doing some mods.

2018 F150 XL Sport, SuperCrew, 4X4
Old 12-07-2018, 06:57 PM

Received 884 Likes on 672 Posts

Go speed limit, go to the gym, take out the spare and never put anything or anyone in it. That will without a doubt increase your MPG. About any mods you do will take away from that. A tuner may increase it marginally. But you'll take years to get the cost of the tuner and custom tune back.

Best thing to do is realize you bought a truck and get the MPG numbers out of your head. Don't even look at it on your hud. Get your mods and enjoy the truck with whatever you do to it. You'll sleep better. Otherwise you'll be one of these pathetic individuals on here furiously typing away at their keyboard wonder why their MPG numbers aren't better.

Get a custom performance tune and enjoy your truck on a whole new level!

Last edited by SteveLord; 12-08-2018 at 11:19 AM.
Old 12-07-2018, 07:06 PM

Received 6,199 Likes on 4,672 Posts

Biggest mistake anyone makes is buying a truck with MPG in mind.
Old 12-08-2018, 07:30 PM

Received 226 Likes on 158 Posts

Buying a tuner will make the truck more fun to drive and make you have a heavier foot. It'll do the opposite of what you plan on buying it for OP.

With that being said.... buy a tuner
Old 12-10-2018, 10:08 AM

Received 289 Likes on 236 Posts

You might get a fuel economy increase with a tuner, but it will be marginal and it takes a LOT of fuel savings to cover the costs of a $400-500 tuner.