Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is it time to let go?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2024, 12:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it time to let go?

Hi All,

Forum + F-150 newbie here. I created and registered an account to get some advice & input from more experienced F-150 owners. I posted this in the "Introductions" discussion, but also wanted to add here for more visibility.

I've always wanted an F-150 since my sophomore year of college in 2013. I finally got one last summer at a Sam Pack Dealership here in Dallas and was super excited! It's a 2013 F-150, FX4, 5.0L V8 with 91,000 miles at the time of purchase for $24,000. Unfortunately, the honeymoon phase quickly wore off because of repair costs...

Since I bought it July 2023 - Present, it has costed $5,056.96 in repairs. Here's a list of what was done:
  • July 2023
    • Wheel Replacement + Black Bolts
      • Cosmetic changes! I was excited when I first bought it, so I wanted to make it look better
        • $228.25
  • July 2023
    • Fuel Pump Control Module
    • Rear Brake w/ Rotors
    • Brake System Fluid
    • Cooling System Fluid
    • Fuel Induction Cleaning
      • I brought it here because of a consistent whining noise from the rear drivers side and 6-8 mpg. I now know it was from the Fuel Pump, but Christian Brother's didn't even fix it...they freaked out and identified a lot of other stuff. The list above is the work I approved and they even verbally berated me for not getting more done. These were the recommendations; don't know if all repairs were absolutely necessary or not.
        • $1,946.20
  • July 2023
    • Exhaust Extension
      • The previous owner cut the exhaust early off to make it sound louder when accelerating, but pointed it right at the rear axel. I have a 1 year old & can't have that really loud cabin noise.
        • $189.55
  • August 2023
    • Low Pressure Fuel Pump