Topic Sponsor
General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

question on 2.5 leveling kit (cam bolts)

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2012, 12:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default question on 2.5 leveling kit (cam bolts)

Hey everyone I'm new to f150 forum and id like to post my first thread and start making changes to my fx4. I plan to put a 2.5 hellbentsteel leveling kit on my fx4 with 18in fuel offroad octanes and 33in mudgrapplers. I know when I intall the leveling kit I have to get it realigned. I called a shop and they quoted me around 400 for just installation that include alignment and cam bolts. I plan to do the installation myself and then go get it realigned but do I really need to buy aftermarket cam bolts or will the factory ones work just fine with the realignment. And if so, what kind should I buy that would be the best bang for my buck.

Thanks for the help
Old 06-07-2012, 04:59 PM
I know it's backwards

Received 73 Likes on 52 Posts

Without even knowing what cam bolts are I can tell you that you don't need new ones.

Just make sure you have the right size socket for the lower shock bolt, a really good pry bar and a really good torque wrench. Other than that just use the instructions HBS supplies and you'll be fine.

Good luck.

I'd feel a lot better about answering your question if you weren't a Kyle Busch fan.....

OH....Welcome the Forum!!

Last edited by BlacKnBack; 06-07-2012 at 05:01 PM.
Old 06-07-2012, 05:18 PM

Received 37 Likes on 31 Posts

there are no cams with the factory setup. you don't have to have the cams, but it makes it nice when doing the alignment.

Originally Posted by BLACK_FX4_NCSU