Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

84 F-150 Only runs when cold

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2020, 07:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 84 F-150 Only runs when cold

Hey guys, I just bought this 1984 F-150, Straight 6 4x4 Manual transmission.
I'm a beginner mechanic, so please bear with me.

Problem: It starts fine when cold. Sometimes, I need to crank it, turn the key off, wait 20 seconds, and then try again. It always starts by the second try. Once started it runs good. The idle starts high. After it warms up the idle starts to drop. After a few minutes of driving it will start to stutter, sputter, and die. Once it dies, I can usually start it back up after waiting a minute, but it will die again much more quickly. When the idle starts to drop, the headlights will brighten when revving the rpms. It doesn't seem to be a low idle that is the problem, as it's most likely to die when accelerating. When idling, it will usually die slowly, often starting to die when it resumes a normal (low) idle for a few seconds, then trying to die again.

Here are the results of some testing:
-I started out this morning with a battery charge of ~12.4V. After it died, I let the truck rest a few hours and checked the battery again: ~11.3V. So it seems the battery is draining while the truck runs. Keep in mind that this is after maybe 3 restarts, a couple failed starts, and idling and revving for maybe 20 min. The battery will hold a charge when I charge it using my trickle charger. I also took it into Autozone, and they said the battery seems fine.