Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

1978 Ford F-150 rough idle then dies

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2016, 10:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 1978 Ford F-150 rough idle then dies

I have recently started rebuild project on my grandfathers 1978 Ford F-150. The truck was bought off the lot by him back in 1980 , since then it has been through a few motors. The one in it now is a 351m motor which , from what I've read, many of them had. When I started I bought a brand new motocraft carburetor and install it. After getting it hooked up it fires right of everytime I turn the key and runs good for about 30seconds before it dies. If I give it a slight bit of gas I can keep it gong , but when I use the accelerator it the engine pauses to accelerate then catches up its itself. Any info on this would be greatly appreciated. As I am only an amateur mechanic and do not have much experience with carbureturs.
Thank you!
Old 01-30-2016, 08:54 PM
Senior

Received 119 Likes on 112 Posts

First, Welcome to the site.
Second, It sounds like you have not been able to get the truck to run long enough to set the idle I would check the idle set screw (on the throttle where the cable attaches) use 1/8 to 1/4 turns to increase your idle (screw it in to raise idle and unscrew it to lower, just like screwing a screw into the wall) Also the idle jets might be closed to much
This thread has instructions on rebuilding and adjusting a carburetor that might help
https://www.f150forum.com/f13/new-ol...d-help-324696/

Hope this helps
Old 02-10-2016, 06:07 PM

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts