Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

New to old engines need help!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2015, 09:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to old engines need help!!!!

Whats up guys I am new to old school engines don't know whole ton about carburetors and I just bought a 1980 Ford F 150 Ranger and it has a 351w and when I bought it the guy said the carburetor and needed to be adjusted and unfortunately its winter down here and I know carbureted engines have trouble starting in the first place just because it's cold so I don't really know how to go about it adjusting the carburetor what I need to look for or if it could be something else because the truck has no ***** whatsoever it's just sluggish and it has true duals on it with factory manifolds from what I can tell and he stopped the exhaust off just before the muffler so its straight pipe essentially could I get some help on what I should do to get this truck back to its former self
Old 12-21-2015, 03:10 AM

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

If you know what carb it has, let us know. Otherwise, remove the air cleaner and take a picture from a couple angles.

Adjusting a carburetor isn't all that difficult, but for best results you'll need a tachometer and vacuum gauge. You need to be able to see these while under the hood. I do mine without the tach but you definitely need the vacuum gauge.

In reality though, it almost surely needs rebuilt. Not a difficult project, but with some adjustments you may be able to get through winter. A properly tuned carbed truck isn't any harder to start, its just that most of them arent tuned.

If its feeling sluggish and you just got it, I'd start with a tune-up... plugs, wires, cap & rotor, fluid changes. Always a good start.
The following users liked this post:
TXDIPPIN 1993 (12-25-2015)
Old 12-22-2015, 10:34 PM