Topic Sponsor
2021+ Ford F150 Discussion of the 14th generation F150.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2021 F150 BCM replacement procedure

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2024, 12:01 PM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 2021 F150 BCM replacement procedure

Last weekends camping trip wasn’t a fun one lol.
short story, turned accessory mode on in the truck to roll windows up. Got halfway through and windows stopped, truck flashed “no key detected” and was dead as could be. IPC would wake up if a door was opened, and parking lights would flash when the tailgate button was pressed on the fob, but that was it. Door keypad didn’t work nor any other functions. Ignition switch did nothing.

I’m a mechanic myself and have done lots of Canbus/module diagnostics so I went at it for a bit. Figured the BCM was most likely dead and off it went to the dealer.

Dealer confirms BCM is dead. Only outputting 3.2V to the ignition button. Order one up, they installed it, functions began working and apparently when programming both the new BCM and IPC are failing and now the truck is more dead than ever. IPC doesn’t even wake up with door opening etc.

My question is why was the IPC being updated. I understand all the modules are at a specific software level together and need to be compatible, but wouldn’t the BCM just be brought up to the software level of the original one? Very familiar with module programming on highway tractors, but not FDRS.

can anyone shed some light on what might be going on here? IPC and BCM are both now unresponsive and not taking updates. Is this the correct procedure the dealer was following? They confirmed they were not updating all software to current, just programming BCM. I had the OTA issue I resolved earlier this year and have been getting updates for the last few months, but still well out of date.
Old 04-27-2024, 11:37 PM

Received 130 Likes on 68 Posts