Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

For lack of a better title... Help!

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2019, 10:35 AM
Unashamed Newb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question For lack of a better title... Help!

Hello all.

I only recently bought my first vehicle, a 1999 F150 4.6 v8 (~146k miles, 1999 Ford F150 1/2 ton P/U 2WD 8 Cylinders W 4.6L FI SOHC) As I explained in my first (introduction) post here, I am a complete newb, lol. So...

Unfortunately the truck has started running rough over the past couple months. At the moment, the issues I am having are:
  1. When I hit between 40-45mph, with overdrive on, it starts to buck and doesn't want to accelerate - it takes a few seconds of nearly flooring it to get it out of it. With overdrive off, it doesn't completely go away, but it runs much better.
  2. I have 2 misfires atm, along with codes for the o2 sensors. The previous owner having the catalytic converters removed, so I'm assuming that would explain the o2 sensors and possibly other issues I'm having.
  3. It seems that at odd times the transmission isn't shifting properly. It will either shift late or be a hard shift.
  4. With the A/C on, it almost becomes impossible to drive at times, seems to lose a lot of power.
I had the coil packs and wires changed about 6 months ago. At the time, I was told the spark plugs were fine. I had the misfires going into this, so that didn't resolve it. So I am wondering if the spark plugs did actually need changed, even if they didn't at the time, they probably do now.

A few people I spoke with seem to think that changing the plugs will resolve most of my issues, but eh I am not so sure. Then again, I don't know much about these kinds of things.

Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated!