Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

2004 Ford F150 Rough Idle/Lean codes

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2017, 12:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default 2004 Ford F150 Rough Idle/Lean codes

I bought a 2004 Ford F150 5.4L at an auction so I only know the history of what I have done to it. I am not a mechanic by trade (I am an IT guy) so diagnosing mechanical problems has been my downfall... I have probably done more to the truck then was needed, but I have enjoyed the learning experience. I am just frustrated that I can't figure out this problem. I am hoping someone on here can help lead me to the next step. Here goes...

The truck starts and runs well when driving (no knocks or any weird noises). However, at idle it tends to choke out and stall. It sounds like it is running out of gas and sputters. I have tried numerous things to fix this, but haven't found the culprit.

Here is what I know/have replaced on this truck:
-Error codes that I get on the truck:
P0171 - System too lean (bank 1)
P0174 - System too lean (bank 2)
P1450 - Unable to Bleed Up Fuel Tank Vacuum (I got this error one time, but after replacing parts, this error quit coming up.
P2195 - O2 Sensor Signal Biased/Stuck Lean (Bank 1 Sensor 1)
P2197 - O2 Sensor Signal Biased/Stuck Lean (Bank 2 Sensor 1)
I use dash command and a wireless OBD sensor to read codes. I noticed that the truck starts to stall when the short term fuel trim gets to high. It can get up to over 50. Also, the O2 sensors seems to stay in the 0.02 range a lot.

Based on these error codes and symptoms, I suspected an air/fuel problem.

The Truck appeared to have had little maintenance work done to it. It was a Repo. One of the coil packs died on the first drive so I went ahead and did some tune up work to it.

-I have replaced all spark plugs and coil packs with motorcraft parts
-I replaced the fuel filter with a motorcraft FG-986b