Topic Sponsor
2015 - 2020 Ford F150 General discussion on the 13th generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4wd issue

Old 01-22-2018, 12:29 PM
2015 F150 Guy

Received 122 Likes on 97 Posts

Default 4wd issue

I'm not an expert on 4wd, but I know many of you are.

I was driving in 4 low on my lawn (dumping some firewood). I was trying to back up across an incline. The truck started to slide a bit. Ok.
Then it sat spinning and not moving at all. I was somewhat surprised. I took a look and neither driver side (down hill side) wheels were spinning under load. Is that normal? I thought all four wheels lock and spin under load.

TomJV
Old 01-22-2018, 12:39 PM

Received 58 Likes on 34 Posts

Locking diff or limited slip?
Old 01-22-2018, 12:57 PM
Senile member

Received 1,048 Likes on 732 Posts

Grass. Especially wet grass. Without lockers, if one side loses traction, guess what? Open diff=one wheel wonder. Sends all power to the path of least resistance.
The following users liked this post:
BCMIF150 (02-02-2018)
Old 01-22-2018, 01:00 PM

Received 2,584 Likes on 1,503 Posts

If you have an ELD, pull the 4WD **** out to lock the rear axle. If you have an LSD, try feathering the brakes a bit.
Old 01-22-2018, 01:03 PM

Received 65 Likes on 56 Posts

Yeah that sounds normal unless you have a locker or limited slip. Most 4WD trucks can spin 2 wheels in 4WD under certain conditions. Many times I've had the built in traction control help -spin the tires a bit and the brakes will be applied to spinning wheel and some traction may go to non-spinning wheel.

If you have the rear locker that may have helped -would have essentially been 3 non-spinning wheels at that point.

I miss the front torsen in my raptor, basically made it more of a "real" 4WD vehicle.
Old 01-22-2018, 01:04 PM

Received 268 Likes on 209 Posts