Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

timing and gap questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2009, 02:35 PM

Received 8 Likes on 3 Posts
Default timing and gap questions

well on my 4.9l i upgraded my ignition to the msd coil and distributor. i got my timing set to 14degrees and my truck idles at around 1,000 rpm. should i bump it down to 12 degrees?
and i hear people about gaping their spark plugs at .55. can that hurt the engine or does it make a little more fuel burn.

and should i upgrade my plug wires too?
Old 12-01-2009, 04:15 PM

Received 1,162 Likes on 647 Posts