Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Can't connect line to slave cylinder!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2010, 10:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Can't connect line to slave cylinder!!

Replaced engine, trans, clutch and slave cylinder but I can't put the line from the master cylinder back into slave cylinder. The slave was replaced and I am using the original line from the master cylinder. I try to push it on and it leaks fluid but I just can't get it on far enought for the locking teeth to engage. I am not being gentle but actually putting a lot of pressure on it.

Am I forgetting something or need a tool to put enough pressure on it? I've never done a hydraulic clutch before (just mechanicals) but never figured it would be this much trouble.

The truck is a 1991 F-150 5.0 with M5OD

Name:  IMG_1203.jpg
Views: 19438
Size:  29.6 KB

Name:  IMG_1204.jpg
Views: 18404
Size:  34.1 KB

Last edited by rscotth; 08-20-2010 at 11:01 AM.
Old 08-20-2010, 03:43 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

It should be simple. If I remember it right, that white plastic thing on the line fitting should be moved away from the cylinder - it can't be seen clearly on your first picture.
Old 08-20-2010, 03:57 PM

Received 1,162 Likes on 647 Posts

Originally Posted by Fast Hampster
It should be simple. If I remember it right, that white plastic thing on the line fitting should be moved away from the cylinder - it can't be seen clearly on your first picture.
Sometimes the O-ring expands while decompressed & exposed to air. Then it doesn't allow the connector to engage. I use the green Buna-N O-rings when replacing.