Topic Sponsor
Engine & Drivetrain "How-To" articles pertaining to the Engine and Drivetrain of an F150 (including Exhaust)

91 F-150 Engine Trans removal help

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2022, 10:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 91 F-150 Engine Trans removal help

Hi group! I'm sure this will be easy for those who have done this before. I am not a mechanic, just a weekend warrior! So I have a real nice 1991 F-150 5.0 E4OD that I need some advice on the engine/trans removal. I am trying to pull both engine and trans as 1 unit. Everything is disconnected. I pulled the core support and (eventually) the hood. Using a newer lift I borrowed from a friend. Chain around main crank and bolted to bell housing at top. When lifting I cant get the bell housing past the crossmember or engine mounts without the intake hitting the upper firewall. The starter also seems to be an issue. I tried reattaching so the unit was higher in the front with the trans tail sitting on the driveway, still no luck. A friend said the front of the truck needed to be elevated. If I do that, the hoist wont go high enough to pull it out??? What advice can you offer? I appreciate the help!!

Old 09-05-2022, 01:52 PM

Received 1,734 Likes on 1,489 Posts

Originally Posted by AdMan2547
I am trying to pull both engine and trans as 1 unit. ... What advice can you offer?
Don't.

Why are you trying to take both of them out? It's MUCH easier to remove only the 1 that needs pulling. But if you're absolutely determined to continue, REMOVE THE TRANSMISSION CROSSMEMBER - it bolts in for a reason. The bolt heads should be 15mm, and the nuts 18mm.

(click this text)

You should put ALL the truck's details & history (as much as you know) into your signature so it shows with each post, as this page explains:

(click this text)