Topic Sponsor

Coolant leaking from exhaust manifold stud cy 2, 3?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2018, 04:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant leaking from exhaust manifold stud cy 2, 3?

Ok, so here goes; this is my first time posting so forgive me if i leave anything out.
My 1994 F150 5.0 efi EXT cab seems to be leaking coolant from one of the studs that connect the exhaust manifold to head (passenger side) it appears as though this only happens when the engine is cooling down, because i dont see any signs of the coolant running/dripping anywhere but straight down. The truck has approx 200K on the body and trans, however i was told the engine was rebuilt prior to my purchase when the odometer read something like 160k. - The temp guage seems to move slightly hotter than usual at highway speeds (in and around the N and O of the word NORMAL, when it would usually stay just before the N) the coolant will drip down from one of the bolts between cyl 2 & 3(?) And drip onto the starter/transcooler lines. I dont have any oil in coolant/coolant in the oil. Could this just be a simple fix with RTV and new bolts? Or is my head just trash at this point? Has anyone else had an issue like this? This is my daily driver so i would like to get this fixed ASAP, im somewhat competitant when it comes to working on engines but lack many pro tools like air compressors, impact stuff or a tap and die. Is this something i can fix with hand tools in a drive way or would i be better off taking it to a shop? If you were to ball park the price for a shop, what would that be?

Thanks in advance,
Duncan,
Old 03-15-2018, 09:02 PM

Received 1,735 Likes on 1,490 Posts

No one can guess any price without knowing what's wrong, and where you are (the local market). The price in Nunavut would be different from the price in SF, CA, or in Bunkie, LA.