Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What transmission gear/setting?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2015, 10:23 PM

Received 99 Likes on 60 Posts

Default What transmission gear/setting?

My 2007 f150 has the 3 speed auto with overdrive. When pulling our 4300lb TT should I leave it in drive as usual or are there times when I should select the gear and shift manually? Turn off overdrive? Etc. no transmission temperature gauge to monitor? It came with the factory external transmission cooler. 3.73 rear end.

Does overheating usually occur when driving at interstate speeds or just mountain driving? Is it better to drive in a lower gear with higher engine revs or higher gear?

I know. Lots of questions. I'm just very new at the heavy trailer towing. Figured I'd rather equip my self with knowledge than a tow truck and a even thinner wallet. The travel trailer has already taken care of the wallet. 😄
Old 01-11-2015, 11:39 PM
Grumpy Old Man

Location: Midland County Texas, just west of the star in my avatar
Received 879 Likes on 686 Posts

Originally Posted by [B
NC F150[/B] ] My 2007 f150 has the 3 speed auto with overdrive. When pulling our 4300lb TT should I leave it in drive as usual or are there times when I should select the gear and shift manually? Turn off overdrive?

That sounds like the 4R70 tranny, which s very similar to the 4R100.

On my F250 with the 4R100 tranny, one of the engineers that developed the tranny said to put it in drive and let the computer select the gear based on conditions. The exception is if you see a steep grade ahead that you know is going to cause a downshift, then get off the go pedal, manually downshift (or kill O/D) and then get back on the gas. Allowing the computer to downshift will usually cause a much more abrupt shift than doing it manually.