Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing a Bus

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2012, 02:18 PM

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Towing a Bus

So iv been making extra money by scrapping as alot of people have lately. I don't steal from abandoned lots, i don't strip electrical wire from power poles. I get most of my metal from a property management company that cleans out foreclosed homes. Sometimes ill pay a person some money to haul away a dead car or two.

I currently work as a bus driver and i have had offered to me one of our old 35 ft city buses. The bus weighs right around the 12,000lb mark. It doesn't run so it would need to be towed to the scrap yard. I can run the brakes via an air compressor, but the only thing i have to tow it with is my 2007 F-150 screw with the 5.4 and factory towing package. It would be towed 4 wheels down with a heavy strap or chain.

In the past i have towed many things with this truck. I have a 29 ft travel trailer that is rated at 7,900lbs. I once rented a bobcat skid steer loader that was said to have weighed about 9,000lbs on a trailer that prolly weighed about 3,000lbs with no issues. And that was up some pretty hilly terrain in northern Montana.

This bus would have to travel about 35-40 miles behind the truck to get it to the scrappers. My biggest worry is the jerking that would be brought on by the slack in the rope/chain. Getting started would be nice and smooth and once it was rolling im sure that the bus would just kinda float behind it without issue. If it came to a point where slack was presented to the strap/chain, once it became taught it would give a tug on the truck and i would be worried about this effect on the transmission.