Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Here.....

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2018, 04:18 PM
FirstTimeFordBuyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Here.....

2018 F150 2.7L V6 Ecoboost. Purchased to tow vintage Airstream 31 ft...approx 7500 lbs. I have the tow package. Do i have to use premium gas and do I have to drive it in 4L? Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 11-13-2018, 05:54 PM

Received 222 Likes on 151 Posts

Ford recommends using premium if you're towing. You NEVER drive your truck in either 4Hi or 4Lo unless you are in a limited traction situation, i.e., snow, ice, gravel, dirt, grass. If your truck is an upper trim level and has the 4A setting, you can use that on dry pavement, but it's certainly not necessary. Strongly recommend you go read your Owner's Manual immediately. Nearly everything you need to know is in there.

I have no doubt there will be other posters in here soon to weigh in on your truck's towing weight limits, so I won't even bother going there...
Old 11-13-2018, 06:00 PM
Grumpy Old Man

Location: Midland County Texas, just west of the star in my avatar
Received 879 Likes on 686 Posts

Hi, Scooney8, and Welcome! to ourcampfire.

Caveat: Don't confuse GCWR and GVWR. in the discussion below.

Originally Posted by Scooney8
2018 F150 2.7L V6 Ecoboost. Purchased to tow vintage Airstream 31 ft...approx 7500 lbs. I have the tow package. Do i have to use premium gas …