Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front hitch weight

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2019, 09:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front hitch weight

Ok, I just got a Travel Trailer, within my tow specs of 2017 3.5 eco, max tow, GVWR option, 4x4 Crew, 1,549 payload on the door sticker, it is a Platinum, the trailer is only 19ft with a max weight of 5,700lbs (4,800 empty), tows just fine.

BUT I am not good at backing up into the tight place we want to park it at home. My last truck had a front hitch and I would hook up my boat to that and move the boat right in. I am very concerned about the tongue weight on the front hitch with my new truck, my trailers tongue weight is supposed to be 680lbs. Is that too much for the front to handle ? I am talking about 5MPH and moving it about 30ft. total, maybe 10 times a year. I think its too much and will break/bend something and then I also think, well it will just go down to the bump stops and not harm anything. What do you guys think ? Nearest CAT scale is 81 miles away, so no real easy way to get things weighed, I will do that when I go camping in the desert this summer.

I have a e2 WDH, would that help on the front if I hooked it up ? I really was hoping to not use it on that super short distance and tight cornered area but if it helps I will.

By the way, I have not put a front hitch on the new truck yet, but its my plan to do so for the receiver mounted front winch I have. I really would like to hook up the trailer to the front to get it in the back yard.
Old 05-06-2019, 10:15 AM

Received 3,165 Likes on 2,194 Posts

Not going to hurt the truck.

Front hitches are typically rated for 500lbs. That rating is for blasting down the highway at speed, so they are seeing loads much higher than 500lbs. I think you'll be fine to move the boat trailer around the yard.
Old 05-06-2019, 10:21 AM

Received 90 Likes on 75 Posts