Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Convince me this is to much

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2017, 01:28 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Convince me this is to much

http://www.mantecatrailer.com/produc...rbds-595932-29

truck is a screw
2017 XLT
5.0 V8
3.73 axle
1811 payload
16,200 GCWR (rated for 10,800 trailer)
tow package
trailer brake controller

I want my family to be safe, but I also want them to be comfortable when we arrive to campsite.
Old 04-10-2017, 02:08 AM

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Well here goes . I have been towing for over 30 years mostly within 10 miles of home
The few times I have hit the interstate with more the 10000 in tow I borrowed my friends
2500 diesel . There is a huge difference in handling with the larger truck . I think you are pushing it big time after u load all the other gear . I don't know how far you tow , one hour or two my be ok but I would want more truck or less camper.
The following users liked this post:
Gumption (04-10-2017)
Old 04-10-2017, 06:21 AM

Received 508 Likes on 358 Posts

http://changingears.com/rv-sec-calc-...eight-tt.shtml

Need your gvwr, and actual weight of truck as loaded for the trip.

Last edited by msgtord; 04-10-2017 at 06:27 AM.
Old 04-10-2017, 07:27 AM

Received 5,989 Likes on 3,553 Posts

Payload of 1,811 minus family of four (600 lbs assumed) minus 200 pounds of crap (assuming zero modifications to truck) mins 125 pounds for a weight distribution hitch (75 - 125) = 886 pounds of payload left.

886 / 13% hitch weight = 6,815 pounds for a loaded trailer.

Trailer is that EMPTY, so unless something is off in the above you can't safely tow it based on Payload alone.