Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another WDH question

Old 01-24-2017, 08:35 AM

Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts

Default Another WDH question

Please bear with me, I am new to WDHs.

I have learned a huge amount here about towing heavy, payload vs tow capacity, and WDHs.

I want to get a WDH because I have a couple of different trailers that when loaded to the max could be above the 500/5000 lb capacity of my 2016 hitch, 2.7l screw, 3.55, 4x4. I don't usually load that heavy but could come close on occasion and would prefer the improved driving characteristics with a WDH for breaking, squat, headlight aim, etc.

How would I set this hitch up for 2 different trailers? Is it easier to just have 1 designated hitch set up for each trailer? That gets expensive and seems overkill for my use. I could potentially have a gvw of each trailer of 3500-6000 depending on what I am hauling. Empty or low weight I would obviously not use the hitch. That still leaves a large range and it seems that you need to do some tinkering to get them dialled in depending on the actual weight.

This seems quite cumbersome on a variable weight trailer, unlike a trailer with a generally fixed weight like a camper. Set it and forget it.

Am I over thinking this and could I find a sweet spot for this load range? I realize I will need additional brackets for multiple trailers.

I currently would used this on a large flatbed and 7x14 enclosed.

Thanks
Old 01-27-2017, 07:56 PM

Received 156 Likes on 112 Posts

Every hitch is setup differently so I can only comment on mine. I use a Reese Tow Power with a separate sway bar controller to tow my 6000lb GVW camper.