Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2017 F150 Tow package and swaying nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2017, 11:27 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 2017 F150 Tow package and swaying nightmare

I have a 2017 F150 XL STX4 with tow package (plus 3.55 gear) and 7000# package. Here's the equipment list:

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/v...inDecoderFarea

I bought and tried to drive a Shadow Cruiser 251 RKS LIKE THIS:

https://www.cruiserrv.com/sc-251rks

I have extensive towing experience as i am a former RV transporter for the northern Indiana RV manufacturers. I traveled just over 200K delivering trailers all over the US and western Canada.

The trailer had the kitchen located in the rear and I had expressed some concern about that much weight behind the axles. I was told it was absolutely no problem. When hooking up the weight distribution hitch, I realized they had (and were) filled the on on board water tank. I asked why and was told it was just so I could see how it towed with a load of water aboard. I said I probably wouldn't ever pull with a load of water aboard and to please dump it.

Paper work was soon done and we left the dealer and entered the Interstate. Approaching 50 mph, the trailer began to sway and by 55 mph was virtually uncontrollable. I returned to the dealer, explained the problem and they made some minor corrections to the hitch. I took off again and this time the sway almost dumped us on the highway. I used the brake controller to get the trailer under control and returned to the dealer to return the trailer and tear up the paper work.

I am pretty sure the trailer was way to heavy in the rear but the dealer claims all aluminum bodied F150s are having this same problem.

Comments? Any one have a similar experience?

Thanks in advance
Old 07-28-2017, 11:52 AM

Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts