Topic Sponsor
Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation Discuss modifications and enhancements to your Ford F150.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

best cold air intake??

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2012, 12:53 PM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default best cold air intake??

Hey guys I'm new to this but I was wondering whats the best cold air intake for my money I can get. I got a 05 f150 5.4 with no mods to the motor, maybe a programmer in the future.
Old 10-16-2012, 01:59 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Honestly, though everyone has their preference, there is no 'best' CAI and if you're looking for max return on your dollar, a program would give you a lot more bang for your buck. However, if you're hung on a CAI, Autoanything has some reviews from owners available for reading. You can make your own call from there. Note that a CAI works best in conjunction with an exhaust and tune.
Old 10-16-2012, 04:01 PM
Your Mod Superstore!

Received 167 Likes on 151 Posts

^x2

Airaid, Volant, aFe, K&N, Injen, Spectre are all great Intake brands.
Old 10-18-2012, 04:33 PM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Thanks guys, I been trying to decide between a cold air intake or programmer. I already have a K & N air filter and the Edge Evolution programmer I tried out worked pretty good set on the economy mode with my exhaust and everything else.
Old 10-19-2012, 11:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I got the spectre intake. Not to impressed. Works great when its cold outside but seems to really start to lag after about 20miles when the truck is at running temp. The intake heats up super fast eliminating the "cold air" effect.
Old 10-19-2012, 11:56 PM

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts