Topic Sponsor
Ford Raptor Forum This is the discussion area for the F150 Raptor.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Known Raptor issues?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2020, 03:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Known Raptor issues?

Good evening everybody, and first of all, happy 4th of July!

I've been a RAM owner for a few years now, and am looking for a new truck. The Raptor has really started to grow on me...
I have no experience with Ford and joined the forum hoping people might want to share their knowledge and/or experiences with me.

I'd love to know if there are any real known issues with the Raptor, and what they are? Not judging, I'd just really appreciate the honesty so I know what I'm buying and to help me steer towards the right truck.
For example, if I'd ask the same question on a Ram forum, I'd appreciate they tell me the rear axle is pretty weak and will need an overhaul at some point, the MDS/VVT lifters will probably fail at some point and the exhaust manifold bolts could snap. That kind of stuff.

I don't hate the new Ram's but I'm a little hesitant to spend all this money to get a truck with the exact same engine and transmission + knowing I might have to deal with these problems again at some point.

Also, off-topic: would it make sense to buy a Raptor now, or is it worth waiting for the 2021? I really loved the current gens, but I wouldn't really want to regret my purchase?
How does the 3.5 V6 handle idling for longer periods of time? The Hemi isn't great for that (helps speed up the process of ruining the lifters, and eventually the cam).

Any input greatly appreciated!! Love to learn and am excited to go test drive one soon.
Thank you!
Old 07-04-2020, 03:59 PM

Received 5,989 Likes on 3,553 Posts

Have you read any posts before asking?

And the raptors are extinct, big issue...
Old 07-04-2020, 06:33 PM

Received 578 Likes on 391 Posts